In Over My Head

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I’ve always wanted to get into building frames – I took a job with a small manufacturer in Northern Idaho to that end but it ended up being a shady deal so that was a dead end.  Then I took a TIG welding class at the local technical college but I haven’t had any opportunity to exploit that talent (or lack thereof) either.  But I now have a little expendable cash and a wife that understands my passion for bikes and the need to take dominion in that regards so I purchased Chimonas’ Lugged Bicycle Frame Construction, A Manual for the First Time Builder…  I picked up a MAPP gas torch at the Home Despot and some flux and silver solder at Air Gas and I’m heading out to the steel place Saturday to pick up some mild steel tubing to practice brazing with and then I’ll order my tubes and lugs and what not and see if I can avoid burning anything down.

Leave a Reply

