And So It Begins

Posted: December 4, 2011 in Front Triangle, Lugged Bicycle Frame Construction

I guess I’m as ready as I’ll every be so I started on the real deal today.  I spent the day mitering tubes – measuring and remeasuring.  The frame is going to be a 61cm.  I don’t ride a 61cm, I ride a 53cm.  But there is a method to my madness.  I want a little more practice before I plop my rearend down on something I made so  I’m making this as a suprise for someone (I got another guy that is super tall and has a hard time finding bikes that fit him lined up – he just has to buy the tubes and lugs and I’ll build one for him too).  I got online and got the geometry/measurements from the manufacturer of guy #1’s frame so the front triangle will be identical to his favorite bike.  Since I’m making him a Cyclocross bike the chainstays will be a little longer and a longer CX fork will shallow out the head tube a tad but otherwise it shold ride pretty much like his bike.

Below you see the tubes all mitered up except for the ST and DT at the bottom bracket.  I’ll probably finish that up tomorrow (after reading the “Front Triangle” chapter one more time) and then start brazing.

All mitered up and no place to go.

Leave a Reply

